Engineer Abdullahi, Muhammad Tyabo was born in Tyabo via Kudu of Mokwa Local Government Area of Niger State on 5th January, 1965. I attended LEA Primary School, Labozhi (1974-1979), Government Science College Kutigi (1979-1984), Kaduna Polytechnic, Kaduna (1985-1987), Kaduna Polytechnic, Kaduna (1988-1990), College of Education, Minna (1997-1998), Federal University of Technology, Minna (2010-2014) where I obtained my Masters Degree. I have published in both journals and text books and attended many conferences and seminars and membership with Professional bodies such as National Association of Teachers of Technology (NATT), Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria (TRCN), Nigerian Association of Hydrological Sciences (NAHS), Corporate Member Nigeria Society of Engineers (NSE) as well as Member Council on Registration of Engineers in Nigeria (COREN).

Meanwhile, I am currently a Chief Lecturer with Niger State College of Education, Minna in the Department of Building Technology Education. I hold the positions of Head of Department, Building Technology and also the college TETFund Desk officer to date. I am happily married with children.

The School of Technical Education came into being on December 3, 1990, when the School of Vocational and Technical Education was split into two. Hitherto, it was a department of Technical Education. The establishment of the department and later School of Technical Education was as a result of the agreement reached between Niger State Government, United Nation’s Education Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) and United Nation Development Programme (UNDP). The agreement was to support the teaching of technical education in the State through the provision of infrastructure and training facilities, with the view to boost the training of Introductory Technology teachers (now Basic Technology teachers). As a result of the agreement, the old School of Technical Education was constructed and commissioned by the former President and Commander’1 in- Chief of the Federal republic of Nigeria, General Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida on May 25, 1991. The school however moved to the present new school of technical complex which was commissioned by the former Executive Governor of Niger State, Dr Mu’azu Babangida Aliyu on June 17, 2014.

The first set of eighteen (18) NCE Technical students were admitted into 100 level in 1989/1990, out of which 12 students graduated in 1991/1992 session. Presently, the school has a total enrollment of 378 students in 2017/2018 academic session. The school also took off with six (6) academic staff, but presently, has a total number of twenty eight (28) academic staff and twelve (12) Non-teaching staff. Both theoretical and practical skills training are carried out in all the departments.

The school is headed by the Dean, who oversee and co-ordinate both administrative and academic activities. The records of the tenure of Deans of the School since its inception is presented in the table below:

1. Alh Muhammad Agwai Metalwork 1989-1992
2. Alh Ndanusa Malik Automobile 1992-1996
3. Mr John Joseph Saba Woodwork 1996-2000
4. Dr. Muhammad Chado Isah Doko Metalwork 2000-2002
5. Alh Ndanusa Malik Automobile 2002-2006
6. Mall. Muhammad Abubakar Uthman Metalwork 2006-2010
7. Mall. Muhammad Chado Isah Doko Metalwork 2010-2011
8. Mr. John Joseph Saba Woodwork 2011-2014
9. Mall. Muhammad Abubakar Uthman Metalwork 2014-2016
10. Dr. Elijah Baba Tsado Building • 2016 to Date

The philosophy of the program, NCE (Technical) is to provide technical teachers with the intellectual and professional background adequate for teaching technical subjects and to make them adaptable to any changing situation in technological development not only in the country but also in the world at large.

The objectives of the program shall be:

  1. To provide qualified Technical Teachers and practitioners of technology capable of teaching Basic Technology in Junior Secondary Schools.
  2. To produce NCE Technical Teachers who will be able to inculcate Scientific and Technological attitudes and values into the society.
  3. To produce qualified Technical Teachers motivated to start the so much desired revolution of technological.
  4. To prepare Technical Teachers so as to qualify them for a post -NCE degree program in Technical Education.

The school has six (6) academic departments. They are:

  1. Automobile Technology Department
  2. Building Technology. Department
  3. Electrical/ Electronic Technology Department
  4. Metalwork Technology Department
  5. Woodwork Technology Department and
  6. Technical Drawing Department

The Head of Departments oversee and coordinate both administrative and academic activities of their respective departments.

Subject Combination